Mini Album: Building our House

Mid 2012 my husband and I brought a block of land and put a deposit down with a builder to build our first ever family home (we have only ever rented) we brought in a new estate outside of town and it was going to be some months until they could start.

I knew I wanted to document the build but didn’t want it to take over an entire PL album so I thought and thought about it but couldn’t think of a solution. Fast forward to the house being started in Feb of 2013 and I began taking loads of pictures of the building process. Then a few weeks later Becky Higgins releases the mini album . . . PERFECT! I started printing out my pics and adding them to the album. I really wanted to document the stories on the yet to be released midnight lot cards so I just began making notes and before I knew it the kit was released digitally, bonus! I had so much to write doing the cards digitally meant I could type my text and get  more info on.
My husband would drive by the block at least once a week and would take photos for me and give me a ran down on new happenings which was great.

In the May of 2013 we where starting to pack box after box after box as our completion date was drawing closer, Becky put a call out for mini album inspiration so I emailed a few pic of my ongoing project and woke one morning with excitement in knowing I still had 100 boxes to pack but was even more excited to see that our little album was actually picked as a feature for a blog post (see it here ) As you can imagine I was pumped!

Here are some photos for you to see of jump over to Beckys blog post.

DSC_0597 DSC_0599 DSC_0600 DSC_0601 DSC_0602 DSC_0603 DSC_0604 DSC_0605 DSC_0606 DSC_0607 DSC_0608 DSC_0609 DSC_0610 DSC_0611 DSC_0612 DSC_0613 DSC_0614 DSC_0615 DSC_0616 DSC_0617 DSC_0618 DSC_0619 DSC_0620
Looking back at the album even though it’s just a house it’s still one of my fave projects.  Next up I want to make a stories of home mini album as the house looks so much different now having lived here for almost 2 years!

Till next time

K xx

 

Leave a Reply

